New Trade: TSLA

This is definitely one of the worst trades I’ve ever done! I broke a few of my trading rules and lost money. Everyone was talking Tesla and I just didn’t think it would beat earnings. Don’t get me wrong I’ve definitely noticed how well Tesla has and is doing. I just thought they’d meet earnings, not beat. Welp, I jumped on this but, unfortunately in the wrong direction and man did it hurt!

Here’s a look at how much I lost on this one:

# Shares or Contracts Purch Price Capital Out Sell Price Capital In Comm & Fees Gain / Loss

% Gain & Loss

10 Aug 135 Puts 9.80 9,800.00 1.00 1,000.00 20.00 -8,820.00 -90.0%


Charts? Yeah, about those… The only thing I went off of on this one was the fact that it declined after every Q2 earnings release. Problem is that was only 2yrs worth of data. Only 2 other Q2 earnings releases. Oh, did I mention how stupid I was on this trade? And how I broke my trading rules? Yeah…

130516 WFM

130516 WFM

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 8.07.12 AM

What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

